Friday, August 14, 2015

New UNESCO World Heritage Sites


If visiting a UNESCO World Heritage Site like the Great Barrier Reef or the Pyramids of Giza is on your bucket list, I’ve got a few options that may give you some new travel goals.
World Heritage Sites are man-made or natural sites that are given special recognition and protection for their cultural importance. UNESCO recently added 24 new sites to the list.
The only new one in the U.S. is in Texas—the Spanish colonial San Antonio Missions— and it includes the famous Alamo.
In Jamaica, the Blue and Crow Mountains were also named heritage sites. They’re natural sites, but they represent cultural importance to the Windward Maroon community in its fight for freedom from British rule.
if you’re a fan of wine in any way, you can check off a World Heritage site when you visit France’s two new designated areas: the region of Burgundy and the hillsides and cellars of Champagne.
Here’s the full list of new UNESCO World Heritage Sites, organized by region:





Middle East

North America

South America

No comments:

Post a Comment